Paleo Chicken Meatballs

Disclaimer:  When Jamie asked me to guest post on the blog (I almost peed my pants!) I asked him:  What guidelines he’d like me to stick to?  I find I tend to go back & forth between Paleo/Primal depending on my current needs.  Am I trying to lean up?  Am I growing another human being?  These things contribute to my diet & change what I eat depending on what’s going on.  Jamie said:  No guidelines, just tell the truth.  So here it is.  I’m not a nutritionalist, I don’t hold any degrees & I certainly don’t consider myself an authority on anything.  I encourage you to discover what works for you in regards to your personal diet & don’t eat something just because I do.  I’d just be thrilled to know you liked what I posted, it got you thinking & because of it, you decided to try it your own way!  What do I know, anyway?

So I’m always looking for new recipes & sometimes I come across things that sounds pretty good but aren’t exactly Paleo/Primal friendly.  I don’t let a list of ingredients stop me!  I just try & tailor them & keep what I do eat & maybe find substitutes for what I don’t.  I found this meatball recipe from Smitten Kitchen & thought I’d give it a go.

We served our chicken meatballs w a side of spaghetti squash!  To cook your squash, you can just half it & place it rind side up on parchment paper on a baking tray.  Since you’ll be needing the oven at 400 degrees, just give your squash about 35 minutes to cook, the meatballs will be sharing about 25 minutes of oven time so plan accordingly.  🙂

Here’s my ingredient list (all found at Kadena Commissary unless noted):

  • 2 12 oz chubbs Organic Prairie ground chicken
  • 3-4 strips of bacon, chopped (you could use prosciutto or even Canadian bacon)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced (more or less depending on preference)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tblsp tomato paste
  • 3-4 fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 C coconut flour
  • Salt & pepper to taste (less salt if you used prosciutto)

*1 Tblsp of coconut oil depending on how fatty your bacon is

Image

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Chop bacon & fry it up till it’s nice & brown.  (I actually keep my bacon in the freezer & it makes it easier to cut as needed).  Depending on how fatty your bacon is, you may or may not need to add the coconut oil.  I used Burgers’ Smokehouse bacon steak which didn’t produce as much grease as I’d hoped.  Throw in your onion & garlic & make sure that garlic doesn’t burn!  Use the coconut oil if you need & fry them up till they are nice & soft.

Once the bacon, onion & garlic are ready, throw them in a large bowl w all the other ingredients & get ready to get your hands dirty!  Combine everything till all the ingredients are pretty evenly distributed & then roll them into balls (a little smaller than golf ball size) & place them on parchment paper on a baking tray.  This ended up making about 28 meatballs for me, which was great bc I used the leftovers (there weren’t many!) for the kid’s school lunches the next day.

Cook at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, then give the meatballs a little flip & cook for another 10.  Adjust your cooking time to the size of the meatballs.  I can’t be held responsible for consuming undercooked food.  🙂

While all this is going, I made a nice little marinara using, literally leftover ingredients I had in the fridge.  If this is too much work, you could certainly use a jar of sauce (or none at all) but make sure you are reading your labels as marinara sauce *can* contain lots of added sugar!

Marinara sauce:

  • 1-2 Tblsp EVOO
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 carrot, chopped
  • a few garlic cloves, minced
  • 2-3 basil leaves, chopped
  • 28 oz can of organic Muir Glen diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tblsp tomato paste
  • salt & pepper

Saute your onion, carrot, garlic & basil in EVOO till nice & soft.  Then throw in everything else & bring to a boil.  Once it’s boiled, simmer on low till you’re ready to use it.  Obviously, this would taste better the longer it simmers but it was literally an after thought on my part.  You could start the sauce before you even make the meatballs!  Combine everything on a plate & pat yourself on the back!

Image

This recipe is husband & kid approved.  

—Trisha

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 12:27:57

    This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Oldsauce
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 00:59:55

    Thanks Trish!! Really enjoyed reading this and while I am not a recipe guy I am sure Chiaki will be giving this one a go!! I am pretty damn sure we will be having you back to blog gain for PP soon!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Facebook Favorites! « pacificallypaleo
  4. Trackback: Girl Power | pacificallypaleo
  5. 300 workout
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 00:57:58

    Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to
    my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but
    I had to tell someone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

