Challenging

Its a beautiful Sunday afternoon here in Okinawa.  Outside the breeze is soft and there are smiles everywhere.  Our screen doors are open and Im preparing for another week.  Im hoping the sunshine is foreshadowing the week ahead, cause I know its going to be a doozy!

If you don’t know me already, I work 40 hours a week in Naha and spend 10 hours a week on 58 getting to and from the best job in the world.  I have three children, two of which are in touch football, all of which are the lemon to my lemonade.  My husband is apart of a small squadron who has a group of wives I like to call my sisters.  My husband is my rock, my glue, my taste tester, my date night companion and most of all my dearest friend.  Im busy.  Really. Freaking. Busy.  But, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This week is going to be a challenging one because the first man of my life, my Dad, is coming to town.  Im not your typical daddys girl, but my dad is as good as they get!  I’ve learned everything I know about sports and a good portion of life because of him.  But, when it comes to food him and I have almost zero in common!  Hes a good ol’ Minnesota boy who loves his meat and potatoes!  I planned my menu this week and this is what Im planning…

T: spaghetti (1 w/ noodles & mine w/ squash)

W: BBQ chicken (mine will be marinaded and everyone else’s will have BBQ sauce)

Th: roasted chicken & veggies

Im not ashamed or uncomfortable of how I eat, I just know I cant teach this old dog new tricks!  I know some of you have children and or friends and struggle with them eating paleo.  I totally understand.  For me, I would rather boil a pot of noodles for my dad because of two reasons, 1: more spaghetti squash for me and 2: its a respect thing.  Im chosing to live this way because I believe this is what works for me.

I am not 100% paleo 100% of the time.  I want to clear the air about that right now!!!  Over the past year I would say I’ve been 40-60% paleo.  But, now that this lean up challenge started, Im as 100% as I’m gonna get! Paleo is easiest if your prepared… I’ll pick you up tomorrow, Dad.  Im ready for ya!

Toodles- jess.

Leave a Reply

