Day 5 and then “the terrace”.

Day 5:  I honestly don’t remember what we had for breakfast but I imagine my-Friday morning self would have made eggs.  Shocking, I know.  I’m also thinking my-Friday self reheated leftovers for lunch.  Again, shocking!  What I do remember about my Friday-self was being excited about Friday dinner!  The MIL and our party of 5 were going to host dinner for our Brentwood family!  Usually our family dinners are at the Brentwood families house, so this was going to be a whole new experience.

Easy dinner planned: sirloin steak with herb butter, sweet potato fries and green beans.

Herb butter:  Between our very exciting breakfast and equally exciting lunch, I set out a few sticks of butter to allow them to come to room temperature.   Once they were nice and squishy I diced basil, rosemary, garlic and oregano and added it to the butter.  I put it in a nice little glass dish and put it back into the fridge until dinner.

Sweet Potato Fries:  I used this website and was promised greatness.  Fail.  It was a time sucker too.  The fries were squishy and I wasn’t impressed.  I’m thinking that I should have waited for the fries to come back to room temp before trying to bake them.  Silver lining: found a cool blog to follow!

Green Beans: Well Fed recipe…. success, again!  Theses green beans were so delicious!!!

Steaks:  I pulled the steaks out of the fridge 30 minutes before dinner time so they could come to room temp. Once they were ready I added salt and pepper and handed over them to the grill master, BL.

Since we had “company” I was nervous about the tastiness of our Paleo dinner, but I think it was well received!! Gotta love family!!!

Day 6: Breakfast:  Fried eggs in bacon grease, leftover sirloin steak topped with onions and mushrooms sautéed in bacon grease and then reduced in balsamic vinegar… holy yumminess!

After breakfast I packed a cooler with the left over plate from Day 4, grapes, capri suns, and a salad topped with grilled chicken, tomatoes, red onion and a homemade ranch dressing from Well Fed.

A friend we made in Okinawa is from Ukiah and they invited us up for a family BBQ. It was a real great experience getting to meet all of the family!  They grilled carne asada and some really great grilled chicken for tacos, burritos and salads.  I had a big plate of both meats on a bed of lettuce topped with salsa and guac- YUMMY!!!!!

Even though I was surrounded by friends and family I just felt off.  I’m not sure if it was my lack of sugar, the full moon or not partaking in a tasty adult beverage; but I was being funky.  After the fun meter peaked we packed the kids and headed to our hotel.  BL and I started a movie for the kids and tucked them in bed.

And then we went to “the terrace”.

I thought the terrace would be a perfect place for an impromptu date night!  My next thought was, “gee, wine would go very nicely on this beautiful terrace”, and the internal battle began.

The wine won.

Tootles-

jess

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: More BACON! | pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

