What works for me

We enjoyed our mini date night on the terrace and I let the Whole 30 slipped away from me.  However, the impromptu date was just what the two of us needed!

The next morning we drove 2.5 hours from Ukiah to Oakley.  The drive was nice and quiet because the kids were tuckered out from all of the swimming they did.  The quiet kids and the 80s music helped me think about where I went wrong.

Heres what I decided: I didn’t go wrong.  When I started eating paleo it was a slow process.  For the first 6 weeks I would only eat paleo on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  After I got more comfortable, I added Wednesday.  A few months passed and next thing I knew I was eating paleo Monday through Friday.  The weight came off and stayed off.  This, for me, is what works for me.

Yesterday I chose another recipe from Well Fed.  Sheppard’s Pie.  We were stationed in England for 4 years and I got the opportunity to eat my fair share of Sheppard’s Pie and with the Olympics being held in London, I thought it would be a good choice.

One of the cool things about Mels cookbook is after every recipe there is a section called: You know how you can do that?  Her recipe calls for 2 pounds of pork.  But, in her special section she said I could exchange the pork for beef… and I did… listening to Mel works!!! It was delicious!

The kids killed dinner!  MC even asked if he could have the left overs for lunch the next day, uh, yeah!!!!!

Since my Whole 30 quest hass come to a screaching halt I’m thinking of a new quest: to become a better picture taker.  Game on.

Tootles.

jess

Leave a Reply

