Family Dinner

Family is extremely important to me.  Growing up we didn’t lived very close to family.  However, I do have very fond memories of Christmas and Thanksgiving when we got to drive 3 hours to Kenai to have family dinners (and presents) with my Abuela, Abuelo, Uncle and cousins.  Being under one roof with people who care for you more than their own life is an incredible feeling.

Being a military family stationed overseas it’s hard to capture that incredible feeling.  Our family has been very lucky to be apart of some awesome squadrons and have had that opportunity to create “family friends”.  My kids have had family dinners with “Uncles” and “Aunties” that they may never see again, but for that moment I hope they felt what I got to feel every holiday season.

Today is Friday and will be the second Friday that we are hosting another family dinner and I just can’t explain how excited I am!  The Brentwood family is coming to dinner and I’ve got a great menu planned: carne asada, guacamole and gazpacho!

nomnompaleo is my paleo idol!  She has awesome culinary skills and photography skills to match!  I got my big camera out and did the best I could…

Dinner: Paleo Watermelon Gazpacho, carne asada, with salsa and guacamole.  Guac is a special side for me to make because its something MC and I do together…

  • 3 avocados
  • 1 lime
  • 1/2 jalapeno deseeded, deveined and minced
  • 1/2 tomato, deseeded and chopped
  • 1/4 red onion chopped (not pictured because she was already chopped and was pouting in the corner)
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 t cumin
  • 1 t coriander
  • 2 T salsa juice
  • 3 T cilantro
  • salt & pepper to taste

MC adding the avocados!

Perfect to go on top of the carne asada we grilled!

I searched online for a paleo carne asada recipe and finally gave up and created my own…. however, I didn’t write down anything and didn’t take any pictures.  Guess I’ll have to do it again, bummer!

Dinner was a hit with everyone… even with my teenage niece who showed up 2 hours late… hmmm, teenagers!!!  Great food, perfect company and we ended the night with 80s music trivia… Auntie Jess and Auntie Suz would have been proud of me!

Tootles.

jess

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fennel, Fusion & Friends « pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

