Fennel, Fusion & Friends

The first time I tried Well Feds Carnitas I couldn’t believe my taste buds!  It was ah-mAY-zing!  I waited about a week and I knew we could talk in our family for another dinner.  Since I had already made this, my confidence was high, thanks Mel!!!

Dinner menu:  Carnitas, Fennel Slaw, & Guacamole

 

The MILs juicer from the same decade as I was born… working like a champ!

 

Mel calls this “uninspired soup”, I call it the “tango for the nostrils”!

Mel likes hers as big chunks, I shredded mine…

Fennel Coleslaw:

  • 1 bag of shredded slaw mix
  • 1 fennel, halved and sliced thin
  • 3/4 c mayo
  • 3 T Blood Orange Oil (yes, they ship to APO!!!)
  • salt & pepper

The Dinner Plate:

I had an opportunity last week that still makes my soul smile!  I got to visit a friend I had made while stationed at Kadena on Okinawa.  She is a spouse from my husbands old squadron.  She made a post on her facebook stating she would be in Sacramento.  Big mistake!!

I stalked her on facebook, begged to meet, made a blood deal with the husband  and drove an hour to see her!!  After a few wrong turns and with a little help from a Sacramento local now living in Georgia (thanks Zan) I swooped up my friend and we were off to Old Sacramento.  “Old Sac” if your ballsy!

We indulged in the tourist traps and purchased bacon themed funnies for our friends back on island.  During our walk back to the car we popped into The Chef’s Olive Mix.  We were greeted and after a lengthy run down of the place we were offered a sample.  We were in heaven!  Check out their website: www.chefsolivemix.com.  I purchased the Blood Orange Fused Olive Oil, Blackberry Ginger Balsalmic Vinegar & the Cranberry Pear White Balsamic Vinegar… you will see all of these in the recipes to follow!

I have read on oils and vinegars in regards to paleo, but these flavorful vinegars are just what I need to keep my paleo kitchen kickin’!  These fun flavors remind me of the friends I’ve made while being my husbands dependent for the past 8 years… thanks, friends!

Toodles.

jess

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aisha
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 07:33:17

    Love this carnitas recipe!! I made it two weeks ago and it was so delish! I think next time I will try it shredded. Love your posts, keep up the good work 🙂

    Reply

  2. Melissa Joulwan
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 23:12:27

    I’m so glad you like the carnitas recipe. YAY! Happy eating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

