Comeback

DONT call it a comeback!!!!  Ok, ok, you can call it a comeback!  Its been months since I have done a post!

After a summer like we had, its nice to be home!!  In the last few months I got my job back (best job ever) and we have moved back to Okinawa, however, our diet along with our work outs have slumped.  But, everyone loves a comeback!!

The big news is my middle son was apart of a program put together by Kadenas Pediatrics clinic.  “Fit Club” is what they called it.  They selected children who were over weight to participate.  They met once a week for group workouts and once a month for weigh-ins and a diet discussion.  The program is an amazing idea!  My little dude, JR, LOVED it!!!  We started it last October and we were really seeing some great progress.  But then we went to the states.

I knew we were going to loosen the reigns a bit but I didn’t realize how long our trip was going to be.  It ended up being a bit longer than we had planned. Bottom line, the weight is back.

Dec 2012BMI 22.3

Dec 2012
BMI 22.3

JR is a happy kid.  He’s SUPER happy, super sweet and all around a fun kid.  My biggest fear is for him to not be able to keep up with the other kids on the playground or to be teased.  Since I take 98% of the blame for my sons condition (I leave 2% to his Dad… I think thats a pretty fair deal since I do the majority of the cooking), I am going to take 98% initiative to get him back on track.

My plan: Hard work and good food.

Hard work: I bought the crossfit kids lesson plan.  Im starting a home gym!!!  I bought a little kettle bell from Reebok Crossfit Asia, got a wall ball from the BX and every month I am going to purchase one piece of gym equipment.  Workouts will be on the days that I work days (0600-1400) and my days off.

Good food: As soon as JR was pinpointed as “over weight”, I immediately took him off of school lunches.  Since we have been back he has been eating paleo-ish, but we are tightening the reins.  Cheat day will be on Saturdays where he will pick our family lunch spot.

Heres my cooking WOD from the afternoon for his lunches this week:

Turkey Wraps:

  • Chipotle Sliced Turkey
  • Sweet Bell Pepper strips

IMG_0013

Tuna Boats:

  • Can of White Albacore Tuna (drained)
  • 1 T mayo (I used regular this time, but Ill be doing a post on paleo mayo soon!!)
  • 2 T pepperchinis
  • Sweet Bell Peppers (cut so that it makes a “boat”)
  • Salt & Pepper

IMG_0012

Scotch Eggs By Melissa Joulwan

IMG_0011

IMG_0015

The kids WOD:

 

IMG_0017

IMG_0024
Tootles-

jess

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynn
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 10:13:10

    “cooking WOD”. I love it.

    Reply

  2. Lindsay Johnson
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 17:39:15

    This is fabulous Jess! I absolutely love the home gym idea. Since starting CrossFit Brentwood that is something that I have missed, working out at home in my garage…ahh, the good ole days. If I come across any good lunch ideas I’ll send them your way. Good job mama!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

