Small People

The last week has been an emotional roller coaster for me and the family.  Last Friday I had the opportunity to watch my youngest perform in her schools Christmas program.  Afterwards, I went to my youngest sons school and helped the teacher make gingerbread houses with a bunch of 2nd graders.  That night all three kids made gingerbread houses of their own.  Christmas music has been playing, presents have been wrapped and placed under the tree, gingerbread houses have been built and Smarty (our Elf on the Shelf) have been up to his Christmas shenanigans.

IMG_0129

Oh, so naughty!

The weekend that followed was filled with curiosity, guilt, heart break, and an abundance of hugging and holding of my three children.  Monday brought yet a new day.  I went to the gym and paid my over due bill and  searched for an addition to our home gym.  I walked out with a 14″ box jump.

I set up a WOD for JR: deadlifts, box jumps and pushups.  On his second box jump- he missed.  Oh, boy!  The tears and the dramatics were quick to follow! But, Ill give it to him.  After a few minutes with frozen peas on his shin and a good cuddle from his mommy, daddy and brother- that little dude got up and finished his work out!  He switched to step-ups and he finished!   Camaraderie and scaling- two of my favorite things about crossfit!!!

Since Im not Oprah and cant give everyone my top 50 favorite things, I thought and thought.  I asked Santa for a Crossfit Kids (CFK) certification.  If I was to get CFK  certified then maybe I could give kids, at least, some of my favorite things!  Christmas came early for me!!! Im signed up for the Crossfit Kids certification in February!!!!

With the holidays, working (at the best job ever), finishing up my online college course (I got an A in macroeconomics, by the way) and working out with the kids (insert bruises here), my time in the kitchen has been less than normal.  Last night we were out of time and needed a quick meal.  I really wanted to go to pizza hut, but I fought the urge… we had left over night!  I thought of our trip to Spain in 2008 and created a little tapas bar for dinner!!!

Koren Bulgogi, chili lime shrimp, balsamic green beans & diced marinated chicken breasts

IMG_0132 IMG_0130 IMG_0131 IMG_0133

I hope each and every one of you have a great Christmas season and enjoy the small things… and the small people.

-jess

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessie Cantrell
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 16:39:28

    As always I love it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

