Thai on the Mind

I don’t know if its been the dreary Okinawan weather, the hormones or what it is- but I have been craving Thai food!  Melissa Joulwans sunshine sauce usually gets me through, but I finally caved and went out for a Thai dinner.  I have had Jai Thai in American village and that super secret place on BC Street, but I really wanted to order three or four things and try them all.  A friend of mine is from Thailand and her favorite restaurant is Cafe Caracuma.  I have heard about this place for over three years our visit was long over due!  I talked my friend into taking us and off we went.

I should have written down what we had but I was so in the moment!  I was enjoying the breath taking view while inhaling the enticing aromas and enjoying the company of my loving husband and our friends.  Literally ten minutes after we ordered our food came.  I.could.not.stop.eating.

As far as it being Paleo, not really.  Apparently Thai food uses some sugar and soy sauce… oh, and rice and noodles.  But if you’re gonna have a “cheat meal” Thai is the way to go!  Fresh vegetables, lots of meat and seafood, coconut milk, herbs-sheesh, its amazing!

One dish that I do remember was “Thai Basil Chicken”.  As soon as I came home I googled “paleo thai basi chicken”.  There were a few recipes that looked ok, but I finally settled on a post by chymerikaen. I changed things a bit:

  • package of boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper peppers, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 onion, sliced thin
  • 1/2 bag frozen steamable green beans
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 1/2 t minced ginger
  • 1 t coconut sugar *
  • 2 T fish sauce *
  • 1 T coconut aminos *
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1T red chili flakes
  • 10 basil leaves, thinly sliced

Heat saute pan over med-high heat, add coconut oil. Add chicken.  When the chicken starts to cook, add the garlic, ginger, bell pepper, onion and green beans. While the chicken and veg is cooking, mix fish sauce, sugar, aminos, tomato paste and chili flakes in a small bowl and mix. When the chicken is just about done, drain the liquid.  Add your mixed sauce into the pan. Make sure all the meat and veg get coated with the brown yuminess.  Turn off heat and add basil.  Try not to eat it all yourself!

Please excuse the tupperware… it was 5 in the morning! This is a quick meal and super tasty!

I also wanted to add on this post my latest irritant with the commissarys coconut milk.  Anyone else get lumpy icky milk?  Well, I bought three kinds and this is what I found…

Toodles.

jess

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Paleo Police « pacificallypaleo
  2. Trackback: Back to my back « pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

