Loser

I have been making JR lunch everyday for about a year now, but I’ve had this little part of me that worried wondered how his school lunch was for him. Everyday he comes home and tells me that todays lunch was the best lunch he’s ever had (have I mentioned he is the sweetest boy?!). Well, today I packed an identical lunch to his…. And I joined him.

I sat at a table with 15 of his 2nd grade classmates. Over half had hot lunch. Hot lunch was a corn dog, 1/2 an apple (fresh & sliced), 2 sliced carrots, 2 stalks of celery (fresh and very pretty), a chocolate chip cookie and milk (chocolate, strawberry or plain). Each hot-lunch-kid at our table ate most of their corn dog, their milk and their cookie. Three kids ate their apple (one kid actually ate their apples and their friends apple). One child ate two carrots.

Why do we have to give our kids dessert at lunch?

Why do we have to give our kids dessert at lunch?

Of the kids who brought lunch, almost every child had a sandwich on white bread. One child had their sandwich in a prepackaged bag…. An “Uncrustable”. The uncrustable kid had a pudding, two packages of of crackers, a chocolate pudding and a juice box. One 2nd grader brought two pieces of pizza, a soda and a banana…. The only cold-lunch-kid with fresh fruit had pizza and a soda.

JR is the biggest kid in his class, I am aware of this. I worry that because he is a “bigger” kid that he would be a candidate for being bullying. Will my “weird” lunch make JR more of an outcast… a target? Will they laugh at his chicken salad boat and mixed nuts? Will they taunt him with their desserts?

They didn’t. They were all super kind, funny and it was an absolute joy to get to sit at their table! JR and I ate our weird lunch, smiled, laughed and enjoyed everyone’s company. The other kids never noticed what we were eating. But as we ate, I couldn’t help bit notice the other kids lunches.

It broke my heart.

As we walked out of the lunch room, I saw a beautiful child with a million watt smile laughing with their friends. That child’s lunch was a bright green, red, and orange salad.

Hope restored!

I walked with JR out to the play area and witnessed my favorite thing about JRs school…. The 100 mile club.

100
About 20 kids ran, walked, and skipped around a route pre-measured route. It was a beautiful thing. 14 laps equal a mile. JR got 10, and the fastest kid got 15. It was awesome watching them go!

When we got home later in the day, I asked MC and JR if they wanted to work out (first time I’ve had to ask)…. All three kids shouted YES!
I took the wod I did this morning, modified it, and had the kids do it…. Sprints!

WOD
4x from the garage to the end of the wall sprints (about 150m)

  • MC: 1:17, 1:20, 1:10 & 1:16
  • JR: 3:05, 1:59, 1:45, & 1:54
  • JY: 1:56 & 1:52

After dinner (marinated and broiled boneless skinless chicken thighs and roasted garlic mushrooms) we did homework, and I put the kids to bed…. And then I turned on huluplus. My husband and I started watching The Biggest Loser a few weeks ago and loved the first two episodes! Bob has a crossfit gym and the Biggest Loser has pointed out the elephant in our society: childhood obesity.  The statistics from the third show are absolutely heartbreaking:

17% of children between the ages of 2 and 19 are “obese”

“at two years old they can’t choose what they want to eat or what they don’t want to eat so its really shocking and sad at the same time that the parents are playing such a major roll in these kids being obese.”- TBL contestant

60% of overweight (not EVEN obese… yet) children between the ages of 5-10 have at least one risk factor for heart disease (high cholesterol, high insulin or high blood pressure).  Childhood obesity TRIPLED in the last three decade…. Since 1983…. Hmmm, maybe that’s why I never liked the 80’s!

“come on America we got to pay attention to this”- TBL contestant

The best stat of the night:

75% of the PARENTS of obese children (not overweight), think their child is normal weight or even under weight.

“Being a parent is the toughest job in the world and everyone’s a critic! But if my son is going to be bullied or taunted, I’d rather it be over a healthy lunch that the bully will eventually realize is their key to their own happiness than being overweight.”- Quoted by a high school bully:

Me.

Tootles.
Jess

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shanny
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 15:29:09

    Isn’t it absolutely tragic what people feed their children in the name of nutrition? And you have to figure, if that’s what they are getting as lunch (which you have to assume all parties think is healthy), what crap are they eating as junk food??

    It really is no wonder that test scores in school are going down….right along with childhood obesity going up. Go figure!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 13.1 | pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

