Paleo Sausage & Peppers

There’s no way I can say what my favorite part of my mommy-vacay was, but a real highlight was making dinner for my best friend, her boyfriend and his parents. After a week of eating out I was anxious to get back in the kitchen!!

I’ve posted before about my MILs sausage & peppers. Well, it was a hit to for my besties future I laws, so I thought I’d reblog about it:

Paleo Sausage & Peppers (PS&P)

  • 2 packages of italian sausage (mild)
  • 4 bell peppers of any color, sliced thin
  • 1 onion, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 2 T tomato paste (the commissary doesn’t sell this in a tube, which would make sense…. so I use the smallest can and then put any leftover in a tupperware with saran wrap on top)
  • 2 T minced garlic
  • 2 T minced fresh basil

I didn’t have any fresh basil so I used “tomato pesto” tomato paste– still a win!!!  The best part there’s enough wine left over for a glass for my love and me!  (the love is tdy… skype and wine works too!!!)

Since the love of my life is out galavanting across the globe, I took the reins for the afternoon agenda:

  • snack: beef sticks, grapes & water
  • wod: 5 deadlifts, crawl across the table, 10 air squats
  • game: lumberjacks and farmers (note: I need bigger cones)
  • homework: adverbs
  • dinner: PS&P with a strawberry spinach salad
  • park: as many trips down the slide as possible & practice bar hangs
  • baths: with soap
  • bed: with Dr. Suess

Since the Crossfit Kids Seminar in Dallas I have revamped my thought process of wodding with the kids.  First change was JY was going to wod with JR.  MC will wod by himself.  (MC is recovering right now… a post on that later)

Second change, no more chippers.

Third: put FUN in every aspect of the wod.  Today I tried doing the wod without a time restraint…. it worked!  The kids had a blast!

The wod was awesome!  Not setting a time restraint allowed me time to use some of the cues I learned in Dallas (rocket ships and butterflys… glue our shoes to the ground) and just enough time to grab the camera!

After the wod, I had JR start his homework:

Adverbs: when & where

Adverbs: when & where

This is my first time having study time post wod.  Who knows, maybe this is the ticket to get him off of his IEP?!?!?  Trust, me… Ill let you know!

After dinner (not one kid ate the feta… or the spinach) we packed up and went to the park.  There is a “drop slide” that you hang onto a bar, allowing your feet to dangle, and then let-go!  Just for shits and giggles I started counting when JR was hanging.  First it was to five.  Then ten.  Eleven.  I noticed the group of four japanese girls were counting too…. as a contest!  They were going two by two to see who could last the longest… I cant count passed 5 in japanese, but I think the girls got to 18 or so.  Then JR came up to me and said, “let’s do TWENTY!!!”

He did it.  A twenty second bar hang.  When I posted the blog: New Years New Tears, I had him try a bar hang: he couldn’t do it for a second.

As we hopped, skipped and laughed back to the car, JR looked up at me and said, “Mommy, can we eat healthy tomorrow?  I feel stronger, I like feeling stronger, look- feel my muscles!”

“Youv’e got it, buddy!”

Tomorrow Im going to try a new recipe from paleopot.  As soon as I get it loaded into my crock pot Im off to the box to cheer on some of the kindest, strongest, beautiful, sexy, and cheer worthy women I know!!!  Wahooo 13.1!!!!!

Tootles,
Jess

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 13:39:28

    That is awseome girl. See you at the box tomorrow
    Nicole

    Reply

  2. Jessie Cantrell
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 14:32:34

    This makes me so happy!! I love him and his muscles. You are such an awesome mom Jess. Way to go sister!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

