Whole 30 Day 1

I have never been a huge fan of the scale.  But today I stepped on it for my journey into the Whole 30.  Since I have known I was going to do the Whole 30 for the month of April I have been pigging out every chance I can get.  To balance it out- I have been more regular at the gym, but it has not balanced anything out!  This morning I was 165.  I’m not wrapped around the number too much, but I can tell you that nothing in my closet fits.  Nothing.  And summer is right around the corner.  And I feel like Veruca Salt from Willie Wonka.

Blueberry-girl

Seriously.  I’m uncomfortable.  My jeans are excruciatingly tight and I’m ridiculously tired.  How can this be?  Well, for the past 6 weeks (since I decided to do the Whole 30) I have eaten a Reeces Peanut Butter cup every single day.  Yesterday I had Cocoks Curry, a peanut butter cup, medium popcorn and sushi for dinner.  Nothing of nutritional value.  Nothing.  And I really feel it.  I havent actually eaten that bad in a long time and now I realise why.

So, today is day one.  Which I find incredibly ironic since it is April Fools day.  Huh, funny.  Well, after I squeezed into my jeans and put on a baggy shirt I made breakfast this morning.  I had bought purple radishes and yellow carrots from the veggie place out Gate 3 a few days ago.  Purple radishes reminded me of Patty from the 0530 wod… cause they were purple- Pattys favorite color and the yellow carrots just looked pretty.  Problem was… I have no idea what to do with a purple radish.  I tasted it.  It tasted like a red radish.  Then I googled: paleo radish recipe. And this came up: Pan Fried Radishes.

I roasted the carrots the night before (while eating sushi) and pan-fried the radishes this morning.  Not a bad way to start off day one!

Whole 30 Day 1 breakfast: three fried eggs, pan fried radishes and roasted carrots

Whole 30 Day 1 breakfast: three fried eggs, pan fried radishes and roasted carrots

The radishes were tasty, but deceiving.  They looked like fried potatoes.  The felt like fried potatoes when I pierced them with my fork.  They did not in fact taste anything remotely close to a potato… it was all radish!

Feeling so icky might have a couple of other reasons besides my recent carb hoarding behavior.  I’ve been off cigarettes and all nicotine (including patch and lozenges) for 9 days.  And I also wonder if another contributing factor could be my recent dose of Depo-Provera.  Only one way to find out!!!

Tootles,

Jess

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 13.5 | pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

