Paleo Chicken Burger

This morning is day 9 on my journey into the Whole 30.  A few days ago I finally broke out of the sugar demons grips and am still feeling great!

I thought this weekend was going to pose my biggest hurdle because of a going away for a girlfriend.  BUT- I  held my own… didn’t drink, didn’t smoke and didn’t eat any yummy delicious mexican food.  AND I still had a good time!

The hot ladies have margaritas.... me: iced Americano

Getting cray-cray with the iced Americano!!!

In the morning I enjoyed my NO hangover with “Randy”: 75 snatches at 55 pounds.  Two things awesome about this wod.  #1: I did it at home.  #2: I did it with my husband.  Awesome way to start a Sunday morning!

IMG_0027

In the garage gym!

What was not so exciting was waking up Monday morning to hamstrings the size of baby hamsters.  And, dontcha know… Crossfit Total was the wod.  Crap.

I was super excited about the Crossfit Total because I love bench mark work outs.  It’s nice to see progress or plateaus… and yesterday I had a bit of both.  My back squat increased by 30 pounds, but everything else remained exactly the same.  I think I could have gotten another five pounds on the deadlift- but I ran out of time.  I feel good about my CFT but I am looking forward to the next one!!!!

Last nights dinner was a home run!  I made everydaypaleos Lamb Sliders with Ginger Cilantro Aoli.  I’m putting this recipe in my handy dandy recipe box- because it was awesome!  I traded the ground lamb for organic ground chicken (couldn’t find it at the commissary).  The sweet potato “buns” didn’t do anything for me so next time we will go sans buns.

Paleo Chicken Burgers

  • 2 tubes organic ground chicken-thawed
  • 2 T almond flour
  • 2 T minced garlic
  • salt and pepper
Fantastical!!

No leftovers

The ground chicken didn’t start off looking fantastic.  In fact I contemplated calling these chicken pancakes… but I warmed my bacon grease to med high (7 on the government stove) let it brown a bit and then I covered it.  Once the raw chicken started to turn white on top, I flipped it and covered it again.  The chicken was moist, flavorful and very garlicy!!!  (sorry for the garlic burps to the 7pm wodders)

a touch of tabasco

a touch of tabasco

The sauce is what pulled this all together!  The farmers market out of gate three has some beautiful jalapenos and I added the green tabasco because I knew it would look pretty on the white sauce!!

  • 1 c paleo mayo
  • 1/2 japanese jalapeno seeded and minced
  • 1/2 c chopped cilantro
  • 1 lime juiced
  • 1 t minced ginger
  • 1 t green tabasco splashed on top
  • salt & pepper

Tootles-

jess

Leave a Reply

