Whole 30 day 13

Things are going great with the whole 30.  But I have been cheating.  The first time I cheated it was day 5.  I could feel the swelling in my belly go down.  My jeans were starting to fit better.  I was feeling really good…. so I cheated.

The whole 30 is tough.  This is my third attempt!!  Refraining from all: sugar (to include artificial sweetener, honey and syrup), alcohol, smoking, grains, legumes (beans), dairy, MSG and processed foods– it’s tough.  Its hard.  But the last part is the toughest for me: “You are not allowed to step on the scale or take any body measurements for the duration of the program.”

scale

Yes.  I’ve weighed myself.  Twice.  The first time was day 5.   My weight dropped 4 pounds in 5 days.  161.  Then my mind went on overdrive: what if I lose a pound a day for the next 25 days?  The people in the biggest loser do it, maybe I can too!   This was also the first day out of the carb-fog and I started “feeling good“… coincedence???  Hmmmm.

Just yesterday a girlfriend finished her first Whole 30.  She lost 15 pounds and posted pictures to prove it.  She looks ah-mazing!!  In my heart I am so proud of her!  Her picture was the last thing I looked at when I went to bed last night and I went to bed with a smile on my face…

But then… I woke up.

I hit the snooze button and started wondering how my weight I have lost.  I knew I wasnt supposed to weight myself.  I even looked at myself in the mirror like a life time move: “You dont want to do this”.   I stared at my own raised eyebrow:  163.

<Insert multiple profanities here.>

I’m disappointed for two reasons: 1. that I couldn’t follow directions and 2. that I havent lost more weight.  I PR’d (personal record) my high bar back squat (30#), low bar back squat (20#) AND my snatch (9#)last week… BUT, I also didn’t move on my deadlift, shoulder press or my clean and jerk.

deads

Hmph.  That’s all I have to say about that.  Oh, and I promise not to weigh myself again until May 1st…. right before I eat a piece of carrot cake with cream cheese frosting.

Speaking of carrot cake: my handsome husband (and Whole 30 team mate) and I went on a nice little date night last night!  We chose to eat at Bovinos since it’s most compatitble with our eating.

Near Araha Beach!

Near Araha Beach!

First off, you can make reservations online!!!  I would highly suggest reservations for the weekend!  We were seated near the window and chose the buffet option.  Being able to eat as soon as you sit down is always a win for me!  We went up to the salad bar and it was FILLED (the picture above is from a girlfriend of mine who went there for lunch… I had forgot my camera) with veggies: lettuce, tomatoes, carrots (slightly pickled- YUM!), black olives, sprouts, pickles, spinach, and green beans.  Around the corner is where they hid all the carbs: rice and beans.  Once we started on our salad the meat came around… and around… and around again!  As long as we had our green card showing- the meat kept coming!  Once we turned it to red they brought out roasted cinnamon pineapple!  Amazing!

Tootles.

jess

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. eatyourbeetsblog
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 01:08:31

    Those carrots were always my fav! Don’t get discouraged tho. Numbers hurt my feelings. They distort my perception of myself. I don’t have a scale for that very reason.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

