Whole 30 Day 15

Half way there!!!  Woot woot!!!  I’m feeling a bit “skinnier”, I’ve had no gas, no more embarrassing tummy rumbles and I wake up in the morning starving.  Last night I wanted to make Pineapple and Mango Sweet Hot Wings.  I started this recipe at about 3 in the afternoon. I didn’t notice that the sauce took an hour to make or that it would have been best to have it “rest” overnight.  For this recipe my kitchen helper and I winged it!

  • 3 bags of chicken drumettes (freezer section by the deli)
  • 1 can of crushed pineapple (1/2 for the sauce, 1/2 for the dip)
  • 1 bottle of sliced mango (across from the eggs)(1/2 for the sauce, 1/2 for the dip)
  • 4 T Sriracha (because there are no jalapenos in this country that have any heat)
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 1/2 can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 can beef stock
  • 2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 2 t paprika
  • 2 t cayenne
  • 1/2 can coconut milk (for the dip)

I made the sauce with the above ingredients, charred my chicken and placed it all in the crock pot for 3 hours.  I stirred it twice.  I put the mango, pineapple and coconut milk into a food processor and blended it for the dip- but I left about 3 T of pineapple for the coleslaw.  When it was 5:30 I looked at the chicken again.  The chicken looked ready, but the thick beautiful sauce had turned watery.  I put all the chicken back under the broiler and I put the sauce in a sauce pan on med/high.  I brought it to a boil and let it boil for about 15 more minutes until it thickened.  Then I plated the chicken and added the thickened sauce ontop.  The side was a fresh yummy coleslaw:

Paleo Cilantro Coleslaw

 

Mix it all together, if you have time let it get frisky in the fridge for about an hour.

Spicy Mango Hot Wings, Pina Colada Dip &

Spicy Mango Hot Wings, Pina Colada Dip & Paleo Cilantro Coleslaw

Tootles-

jess

Leave a Reply

