Summer 2013 Part 1

Schools out, the Okinawan rainy season is officially over and summer is here!  This summer is going to be a logistical nightmare, but “Part One” is starting with the highlight of my overseas tour: my sister is coming to Okinawa!  While we were stationed in England she came to visit twice.  Course she was a “college girl” and could afford the time off.  But, now as a “Program Manager”, mother of three, and wife- her schedule has gotten… grown up!  BUT, she was able to bring her daughter for two glorious weeks! Its been the best two weeks since living in Okinawa!!  Getting the chance to introduce her to the girlfriends who have become my sisters by choice, watching the awe in her eye as we drive around the island, seeing our daughters play together for hours, laughing at new inside jokes and enjoying great meals as a family! 

Heres a snapshot of my Okinawan tour of food for my sister:

Dinner at home: Sausage and Peppers

Dinner at home: Sausage and Peppers

Sams Anchor Inn

Sams Anchor Inn

KaKa Cafe'

KaKa Cafe’

Jai Thai

Jai Thai

Hearth Cafe

Hearth Cafe

Party Land

Party Land

CoCo's Curry

CoCo’s Curry… “I dont love it“!!

Cactus Eat Trip

Cactus Eat Trip

It was nice to become a tourist again… we did Araha Beach, Kadena Marina, CoCoks pedicures, the Churaumi Aquarium, a roller slide, a drop slide, yoga at Reebok Crossfit Asia and of course the 100 Yen store!!

The last part of her trip was the hardest part for me: my sister took both of my boys up to Alaska to visit my dad. 

To Anchorage!

Over the Pacific and beyond!

They all landed safely and at this moment they are enjoying the midnight sun and the family they only get to see once a year.  Since the anxiety of having my kids travel internationally without me, I am now calm and collected.  For the next few weeks I’m damned and determined to reverse the damage I’ve done to my waistline and clean up my diet.  As if I planned it myself, the gym is starting a lean up/weight loss challenge on Monday… game on!

Tootles-

jess

Leave a Reply

