Avocado Stuffed Burgers

The first week of the lean up challenge has come and gone.  I painstakingly input every single food into my fitday log.  What a pain in the ass!!!!  I thought at first it was awesome, but now Im thinking it’s a mind duck.  First off, why is there 42 options for raw beef?  I just want to add a steak-cooked!  Personally, I can never find what I actually want to input.  And there is no selection of Thai food…. plenty of McDonalds and Wendys, but no Thai.  I want to put in my exercise to log my workout days and I have settle with calisthenics.  Seriously?  At the end of the day, I look my pie chart and Im left thinking: I want pie.

Fat
Carbs
Protein
Alcohol

July 1st

July 1st
June 30

June 30

June 29

June 29

Am I going to stop logging my food?  No.  I just want to complain about it.  Its worth it, I know, but seriously- its worse than wall balls!  I wish I had been able to attend one of the nutrition seminars RCFA has had over the past few months.  Damn my schedule.

Rant over.

Good news: I have found the app for my iPhone makes it a little easier.  An app that Im loving right now is called “Primal Paleo”.  There’s a free version and a $1.99 version (I downloaded the free one).  The husband and I cooked up one of the recipes: Avocado Stuffed Burgers.   Of course grass fed beef is hard (not impossible) to come by around our little island, but purchasing the beef off-base changed the texture and the overall taste.  I got the pineapple and avocado at one of the markets on my shopping circuit.  The sundried tomatoes were from the commiscary by the butternut squash.

avocados, diced sundried tomatoes, lemon juice, salt & pepper

avocados, diced sundried tomatoes, lemon juice, salt & pepper

beef patties from San A

beef patties from San A

sliced pineapple, red onions and jalapeno

sliced pineapple, red onions and jalapeno

avocado stuffed burger with a cucumber-tomato salad

avocado stuffed burger with a cucumber-tomato salad

As far as getting to the gym goes, my schedule has gotten in the way a bit.  On Monday I went for a three mile run while I waited for my car to get a pre JCI inspection.  On Tuesday, after I got off work, I had just enough time to make it to the gym, wod, pick up JY and take her to gymnastics…. but then realized I had forgot a hair tie.  Im not one of those girls who can workout with their hair blowing in the wind…. mostly because my hair flops in my face like a sweaty-stinky-mop: gross.

So, I went home, got a hair tie, and looked up Mondays wod:  Tears of a Spider Monkey.  Lucky for me I had all the equipment in my fantastical garage gym.  I put “Dev Radio” on Pandora, set the timer and off I went.  After the first round, I took off ten pounds.  For the second round I broke up the 20 push presses and the overhead squats into sets of five. After the third round I threw in the towel.  I was empty.  Done.  Smoked.  15:07. It took me over 15 minutes to do three rounds, I did not have another 20 minutes to try to do the other four rounds… I had exactly 22 minutes to get to my daughters school, pick her up and take her to gymnastics.

I know that if I had made it to the gym, the trainers would have never let me stop.  But, if I had the hair tie, gone to the gym and finished all 7 rounds, I wouldn’t have gotten JY to her gymnastics.  Priorities.  Something had to give.  I gave up the wod.

The rest of the night it bothered me.  I dropped off JY at her day care, dropped off my car to get the JCI done, ran home (1 mile), blasted Dev again, and finished the other four rounds.  17:35.

It might not have been pretty.  It wasn’t RX’d.  But, eventually, it got done; everything gets done.

Tootles.

jess

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eatyourbeetsblog
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 01:27:34

    Ugh, isn’t that fitday a total pain in the ass. I found I just stared logging all my meat as raw unless I was adding sauce or something to it. It’s just easier. But if you’re doing a stew or soup – forget about it!! It’s a good option to have but such a pain to wrap your head around. Honestly, when I was doing it I think I became a bit too obsessed with the little ole pie chart. :/
    PS, good on ya for finishing up that WOD.

    Reply

  2. Auste
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 01:55:56

    #1: I feel the same way about the fitday…at the end of the day I don’t even feel like it represents what I really ate because I had too many options….neither one of them matched what I ate.

    #2: stop stressing! Life is good. WODs and food are fun! It is easier to stay on track if you are enjoying the journey.

    Reply

  3. fionaboger
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 15:38:04

    Good for you for getting the rest of it in! I’ve never used fitday, but I have used other similar programs and I hate that they have a million version of beef, chicken, etc. It’s a pain in the butt to do, but it really helps you get a sense of what you are actually eating.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Spreading the wod | pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

