Shrimp and Scallop Kabobs

Finally, a weekend where my schedule has fallen to my favor! I enjoyed the whole day celebrating the Fourth of July with my husband and daughter. We went on a beach tour of three different beaches: Kadena Marina, Schwab Beach and a place my husband calls “Shark Rock”.

Camp Schwabb

Camp Schwabb

After our sun kissed day, we stopped in a little village that my husband remembered from his Marine days. This was actually the first place he had ever tasted sushi: The Ocean! There’s no article on okinawahai.com and I have no idea how to get back to this gem of a place, sorry!!!

Ocean Sushi

Ocean Sushi

Friday was just as glorious! We took Mason to the vet to have his weekly check up- he’s recovering from an eye infection. The vet told us he was progressing well and that we could take his cone of shame off for some beach time!

Ginoza beach

Ginoza beach

Take the express way towards Nago. Get off at the Ginoza exit. Take a left onto 329. A right on 234 and a left at this sign.

It even has a puppy on the sign!

It even has a puppy on the sign!

Saturday I was back at the office. I got off work and did 42 minutes of yoga (from a dvd)- HUGE accomplishment for me!!! Then the husband and I threw together a home wod: 21-15-9 row for cals and #65/#55 thrusters. After a good sweat, we got all gussied up and linked up with some of the sexies from the gym!!! We ate dinner at Oceans Restaurant and Grill. I had the jerk chicken… and since its camera shy, I passed on the photo-op, but trust me: it was awesome!!!! After dinner we went down to KakaCafe to hang with Walter!

KaKaCafe

KaKaCafe

Sunday was spent nursing more than just a tan, but I was able to catch up with a girlfriend over lunch at Hearth Café. I even got plenty of down time with our (for now) only child, JY. Before firing up the grill of some BBQ chicken, me and the little lady ran down to the Awase Fish Market. Ok, so we didn’t actually run. We drove. Slowly.

Mondays dinner was a hit:

Shrimp and Scallop Kabobs

Shrimp and Scallop Kabobs

Since our fish market trip was later in the afternoon, the fresh fish bin (say that five times fast!) was empty. JY spied with her little eye some frozen shimps and scallops. I thawed them over night in the fridge. In the morning, I de-shelled the shrimpies and marinated them and the scallops in olive oil, lime juice, red chili flakes, and diced cilantro. Simple. Clean. Fantastical.

Tootles.

jess

Leave a Reply

