Tropical Island Dinner

You can tell its summer in Okinawa when you’re covered in a perpetual layer of sweat: cute.  No.  Not really.  But, summertime in Okinawa is also a chance to try some mazing food… especially the mangos!  I mentioned this past weekend that we had gone to Oceans Restaurant & Bar and had the jerk chicken.  The chicken came with a dipping sauce that I havent been able to get out of mind.  It was green, tangy and tad bit spicy: it was a beach party for your mouth!  Curious about the ingredients I have been racking my brain; how to recreate the party.  Finally, I messaged their Facebook page and asked them.  I knew the chances of them a) getting back to me was slim to none and b) giving me the recipe was slim to none… but I tried.  Low and behold: they got back to me!

Oceans

Oceans

After wodding by myself I came home to a flank steak marinating in marksdailyapple’s recipe #2.  I whipped up my new green sauce and started throwing together a Cold Mango Soup.  This recipe comes from a blog that I stalk: weekly.  I ended up using one mango I had bought at the commiscary, but I nibbled on the pit of the local ones as I went along!

Cold Mango Soup ingredients

Cold Mango Soup ingredients

Processing in my ninja!

Getting dicey with my chopper!

Getting dicey with my chopper!

Cold Mango Soup

Cold Mango Soup

Dinner for a cave-family on a tropical island!

Dinner for a cave-family on a tropical island!

In just a few short days, I’ll be flying off our little island and crossing the Pacific Ocean (hoping for a better landing than the Asiana 777 a few days ago).  In 10 days I’ll log at least 1,500 miles on a rental car.  Even though I’ll be spending a lot of time behind the wheel, I’m hoping eating local (Northern California/Southern Oregon) will help me stay on track for the lean up challenge.  I’m also hoping to make it back to Brentwood to wod with them and maybe a crossfit gym in Grants Pass!  Fingers crossed for continued fitness on the road! Tootles-jess 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Oceans Seaside Restaurant Okinawa
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 03:08:58

    We really appreciated your comments. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. MC @ NourishPaleoFoods.com
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 04:15:11

    Thanks for the shout out! I’m glad you enjoyed the soup. Yay for fresh mangos!

    I’m enjoying reading about your adventures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

