Kids wod

Another highlight in my 10 day trip to the states was the opportunity to not only watch a Crossfit Kids (CFK) class, but JR and MC got to participate!!!

Crossfit GP has just launched their CFKs program and I was able to work both boys in there for a wod.  This is the first wod they have ever done without me being the “coach”.  To be honest- I was nervous.  I had told the coach that I was Level 1 and CFK certified and that I had coached them for a few months, but I forgot to mention it had been almost 2 months since they had worked out (in those 2 months JR has gained 9.5 pounds and no- he hasn’t gotten any taller):

Both of the boys were excited to go so I tried to put my nerves on the back burner.  Plus there was the added distraction of the awesome feeling I had from just completing my first wod with my sister– bonus!

The boys warmed up and looked good.  They looked comfortable.  The coaches were enthusiastic and incredibly encouraging.  As a skill they worked on hand stands.  JR came right out and said, “I cannot do that”.  The coach called JR to the mat and had him start in a head stand.  Even though JR struggled the coach got him to pull his legs straight up and cheered him on as if his assisted head stand was the most beautiful thing she’d ever seen.  When he stood up, she yelled, “you did it!!!” and then he smiled proudly: beautiful!

Crossft GP in Grants Pass, Oregon

Crossft GP in Grants Pass, Oregon

MC had the same success.  Apart of the warm up was pull ups.  He jumped up to the bar, kipped and then pulled himself right up.  Of course I only saw it out of the corner of my eye and asked him to do it again so I could get a picture.  He said he didn’t think he could do it again… he did!!!

Since we have been back on island MC has lost interest in CFKs.  He did one wod with me and JR but I could tell he wasn’t feeling it.  I asked him if he wanted to wod with us yesterday and he very politely said, “no thanks”.  I’m not going to push it, but I do hope he shows interest again some day.

Yesterdays wod with JR was awesome!!  I had ran out of time to make it to RCFA, so I threw together my own wod:

  • 1000 m row
  • 50 wall balls (WB)
  • 40 dead lifts 85# (DL)
  • 30 WB
  • 20 DL
  • 10 WB
  • 500 m row

It took me over 20 minutes, but I’ve just got to better at those damn wall balls!!!

Wall-Ball-Humor

JR came out to the garage to cheer me on, so I asked him if he wanted to wod.  “Sure”, he said.  I’m not sure if he agreed because he actually wanted to or if he knows it would make me happy.  Something I’m definitely keeping an eye on.

  • 100 m row
  • 14# ball carry 100 m (BC)
  • 5 burpees
  • BC
  • 5 pushups
  • BC
  • 5 sit ups
  • BC
  • 5 jumping jacks
  • BC
  • 5 air squats
14# ball carry

14# ball carry

air squats

air squats

sit ups

sit ups

Speaking of CFKs, I was contacted a few weeks ago by CFKs.  The email suggested I apply for “affiliation”.  I’m still waiting to hear back, but I have got to say I’m really excited!!  I don’t know how I would coach kids (other than my own) with my work (and social) schedule, but I’m really excited for the opportunity to share what I have learned and love to other families!!!

Tootles-

jess

Leave a Reply

