Summer 2013 Part 3

10 more days.  10 more days and all three of my children will be in school.  Well, not really.  It’s never that easy.  The boys start school soon, but JY doesn’t start kinder for almost three more weeks.  But, whatever- we’re close!

Every year around this time I come to a full-fledged panic.  The realization of my children growing up, the nervousness of my kids making new friends, the clothes shopping, supply shopping, and then I realize how far behind I am on my scrapbooking.  Yes.  Yes, scrapbooking creates a ton of anxiety for me.  I love to scrapbook but since I started working full time- my scrapbooking career came to a screeching halt!

One thing I have been dying to do is participate in a photography class.  I’ve looked into a class at Kadenas Crafty Things but with a rotating work schedule- I’m not able to complete all of the classes.

Until now.

A photographer is putting on two classes on how to use a DSL camera- and I got a spot!  Wahoo!

I have been following this blog secretly thinking to myself someday I’m going to take real pictures with a real camera and my blog, my children and my scrapbooking is going to love me for it! 

Don’t get me wrong, I love my iPhone camera- I love it!  But, for some reason my iPhotos don’t turn out like these… maybe I need an iPhoto class too!!

Another thing I’m trying to fix before school starts is my school lunch dilemma.  Packing a kid’s school lunch should come with a reward.  Like chocolate or silence.

I have packed JR and MCs lunch for over a year.  MC likes to be able to throw everything away when he’s done eating so his lunch goes into multiple zip lock bags and then into a brown paper sack.  I like the simplicity and the nostalgia of his lunch even if its wasteful- he thinks it’s cool and that’s all that matters!

Since JR’s a few years younger he hasn’t been bit by the “cool” bug yet.  He is just grateful to get lunch!  I purchased these lunchbots about 9 months ago.

faded and torn

faded and torn

I liked them but I didn’t love them.  I didn’t love them because if I put four olives in a side the juice would run over to the grapes and violate their grape-space.  Course this doesn’t bother JR, but JY voiced her disapproval by not eating- a thing. To add to my “I don’t love it” feeling of these things is the way they held up.  Well, the paint job didn’t.

Then I thought about buying one of these:

Fancy, huh?

Fancy, huh?

But seriously, $60.00 for a lunch box? And the olive juice will still violate the grapes?  No bueno!  Here’s one more issue with this box: if you put it in the bag and then put the bag in a back pack, isn’t it completely sideways?  I don’t know why that bothers me, but it does.  Its very upsetting.  Why cant there be a lunch box that- I don’t know- FITS INTO A KIDS BACK PACK?!

lunch

Chips, cookies AND bread for lunch!?!? Oh no!

I just ordered these from Amazon.  Hopefully they make it here before I’m four years behind on my scrapbooking!!!!

Please let summer be over soon.

Tootles-

jess

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynn
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 03:05:36

    You live in the land of bentos!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Brittainy
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 17:49:04

    I just ordered a Yumbox (well 2 actually) for my Kindergartener. They just got back in stock like 2 days ago on Amazon. They’re about $30 a piece and free shipping, oh and the’ll fit inside of a lunch bag or backpack. I kinda choked on the $60 price tag for the Space Box too. Insane!

    Reply

  3. Brittainy
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 17:50:19

    Oh! I forgot, they’re spillproof and the compartments are individually sealed from each other via the lid design. They get really good reviews, so fingers crossed!

    Reply

  4. Brittainy
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 03:11:05

    Yay!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Lunch Box Countdown | pacificallypaleo

Leave a Reply

