Pork Carnitas and Chicken Mango Salad

Melissa from theclothesmakethegirl.com is my friend in a parallel universe where we wear all black and sit at dingy coffee shops talking about PRs, words that make us smile and debating why dogs are better than cats.  And I have blunt bangs.  Yes.  Oh, ok, back to this universe here is my FAVORITE recipe from her:

Stovetop Pork Carnitas

This recipe is also in her cookbook which is my, of course, is my #1 favorite cookbook in the whole wide world!  I was able to do laundry, water the basil, help my son write a letter to his cousin, and make mayo all while my “uninspired soup” cooked away!

Step 1: Buy this book

Step 1: Buy this book

Step 2: Make uninspired soup.

Step 2: Make uninspired soup

Step 3: Wait

Step 3: Wait

Step 4: Forget all the worries of the world and dig in.  Give a tad bit to your friend.  Only if you really like 'em.

Step 4: Forget all the worries of the world and dig in. Give a tad bit to your friend. Only if you really like ’em!

I started this recipe at 7 in the morning, it finished cooking right at 9 and I was still able to make the 1030 wod before a swing shift!  Phew- that’s a lot to do before an eight-hour day at the office!!!

The wod that I made it to that day was a real high point for me. I was able to do it RX’d (prescribed… get it… like a doctor–ha ha) AND in the time cut off.  Yay me!!

I topped my crispy crack-pork with home-made guac and salsa and day dreamed of telling Melissa how bad ass she is… without creeping her out.

After a “body weight” based wod today (REALLY?! Talk about salt in the wounds for not doing better at the lean up challenge!!), I came home starving.  Straight up HANGRY!  I gave pintrest my ingredients: mango and chicken.  This is what came up:

Mango Chicken Salad with Spicy Ginger Dressing by the Smoking Chestnut

Since the recipe isn’t “paleo”, I changed things up a tad:

Dressing

  • 2 t minced ginger
  • 2 T Sriracha
  • 2 T red wine vinegar (organic that I got from Green Leaf)
  • 1 T Tamari
  • 1 t coconut aminos
  • 1 T sesame oil
The "dressing"

The “dressing”

Salad:

  • 2 boneless skinless breasts grilled and chopped
  • 1 mango, chopped
  • 1/2 head purple cabbage, diced
  • 1 Okinawan carrot, julienned
  • 3 Okinawan chives, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, julienned
  • handful of cilantro, chopped
  • 1 T sesame seeds, toasted
Spicy Mango Chicken Salad

Spicy Mango Chicken Salad

It made me happy.  It made JR happy.

Then I got super pissy.  Don’t know if it’s: driving to Naha in the wind (which reduces the already low speed limit to an excruciating crawl); my husband going on his man trip tomorrow; celebrating JRs birthday without his dad and while I’m at work; super irritated that a friend has complained about not being invited to activities- and then when I do invite them, they don’t come; 39 days without a cigarette, trying to herd 12 cats to play bunco, or this “rare blue moon“.  Whatever it is, I hope it passes as fast as it came on!

Ugh.  Well, at least I’m “well fed“… get it??  Get it?!?!

Meh-

jess

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Catherine
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 12:11:34

    LOL, I love this post! It cracked me up and made me want to try the carnitas again. They didn’t turn out so well the first time I made them – but your picture and passion for them has inspired me to give it another shot!

    Reply

  2. Melissa Joulwan (@melicious11)
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:46:17

    We should TOTALLY hang out at Opa! (www.opacoffeewine.com) and talk smack about people while wearing super cute outfits 🙂

    Thank you so much for the sweet words about Well Fed. And nice job on cranking out carnitas AND a WOD all before noon. Right on!

    Hugs from Austin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

