Paleo Hot Wings and Ranch Dip

Damn you Pinterest!  I DONT have time for you!!!!  Ok, maybe just one minute.  One minute turns into an hour and now I’m damned and determined to find out if you can make hard-boiled eggs without boiling them. Have you seen this picture with the caption like this:

"For anyone that may not know, the BEST way to make hard-boiled eggs is in the OVEN! Place the eggs in a muffin tray so they do not move around, turn the oven to 325 degrees, pop in for about 25-30 minutes and remove! Not only are they tastier, but they also are much easier to peel!" Mind blowing.

“For anyone that may not know, the BEST way to make hard-boiled eggs is in the OVEN! Place the eggs in a muffin tray so they do not move around, turn the oven to 325 degrees, pop in for about 25-30 minutes and remove! Not only are they tastier, but they also are much easier to peel!” Mind blowing.

Challenge accepted!!!

Step one: Fill muffin pan with egg

Step one: Preheat oven to 325, fill muffin pan with egg and set timer for 25 min

Step 2: Hear loud popping sound at 19 minutes and open oven.

Step 2: Hear loud popping sound at 19 minutes and open oven.

Step 3: Ice bath

Step 3: Ice bath

Pintrest: 1

Pinterest: 1

 

Me:0

Me: 0

I hate losing.  But it was worth a try!  Here’s one that turned out a whole lot better.  This is from www.paleopot.com.  One of my favorite sites; both blog and facebook page.  I have done this recipe a couple of times and both times my super nanny had to finish it.  Both times there were no left overs!

Slow Cooker Chicken Wings

The first thing I noticed with this recipe is it calls for 4 oz of grassfed butter/ghee/coconut oil.  I don’t speak in ounces so I converted it: 1/2 cup!!  I thought that was a bit excessive… here’s what I did:

  • 1 bag of chicken wings thawed
  • 1 bottle of Franks hot sauce
  • 3 T organic butter

IMG_0003

Salt and brown your little chickies under the broiler.  I used my super very fancy salt:

Himalayan Pink Salt Crystals

Himalayan Pink Salt Crystals

On the stovetop, melt butter and stir in 1/2 bottle of the buffalo sauce.  Put slightly browned chicken and sauce in crockpot.

IMG_0008

Cook on low for 4 hours.  Take liquid in crockpot and the other 1/2 of the buffalo sauce and simmer on the stove top until it thickens up a bit.  Smother.  Be happy!

Finger lickin' good... I think!

Finger lickin’ good… I think!

Wondering what they taste like??!! Me too!!!  I also made some ranch dressing!

IMG_0005

ingredient round up

  • 1/4 c coconut milk
  • 1/4 c paleo mayo
  • 1/4 t apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 t coconut aminos*
  • pinch of the following: salt, dill, paprika, granulate garlic & oregano

 

Mix and be happy!

IMG_0006

Not an exact, but it’ll do!

You win some, you lose some!

September started yesterday and I have started a September Squat challenge!  Starting September 1st complete one air squat.  Every day add one squat.  At the end of the month we should have 30 gorgeous-unbroken air squats!!

The air squat

The air squat

Here’s 25 ways to appreciate your body from gosupersisters.com!  #11 is beautiful to me: Remind yourself: your body is not a democracy — you’re the only one who gets a vote.  One because September 11th is my birthday and two: it’s something that I need to remember as I age oh so gracefully.  Enjoy!

Tootles-

jess

*from amazon.com

Leave a Reply

