Butternut Squash

My dad used to tell me: You have to have a plan, even if it’s just to change it.  I take that piece of advice very seriously especially in the kitchen.  I hate coming home from work and having no idea what is going to be for dinner so I have started meal planning using Pinterest-smartest thing I have ever done!!!

Today I had planned on making a pork loin and butternut squash stew but the loin was still in the freezer.  Time to change the plan!  I had picked up some meat (and maybe some strawberry Kit-Kats) from the new San A by Kinser and thought I’d try the butternut squash in chili!  Perfect crock-pot meal and awesome for a typhoon day!

round pork mixed with ground beef

ground pork mixed with ground beef

Australian beef

Australian beef

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and diced

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and diced

Spices

Spices

meat mixture with spices ontop of squash... on low 6-8 hours

meat mixture with spices on top of butternut squash… on low 6-8 hours

Since I only used 1/2 of the butternut squash in the chili, I went to Google to figure out what to do with the other half.  Then I found this: Roasted Butternut Squash with Kale and Almond Pecan Parmesan.  I don’t understand the “parmesan” so this is what I did:

Roasted Butternut Squash and Kale:

  • 1/2 butternut squash , peeled and diced (yes I used youtube)
  • 3 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
  • 3 leaves kale, diced and stems removed
  • 1 handful of almonds and pecans, chopped
  • salt n peppa
  1. Preheat oven to 400 while you dice away.  On a baking sheet (I used a Pampered Chef stone) add squash, garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Cover with tin foil.  Poke holes in tin foil.  Don’t get too carried away.  Bake for 20 minutes.
  2. Decrease oven heat to 350.  Remove from oven and remove tin foil.  Give it a good stir.  The squash should be soft.  Add kale and nuts.  Stir.
  3. Put back in oven for 12 minutes.
  4. Turn off your oven.  Remove from oven. Add a sprinkle of salt and peppa and then try to wait until its cool.
Salmon from the San A and the Roasted Butternut Squash Kale

Salmon from the San A and the Roasted Butternut Squash and Kale

Tootles-

jess

 

Leave a Reply

